Skip to content

Content with uncertainty

November 6, 2013

For those of you who know me, the above title is not one you would ever expect to see me affirm… but the Lord is definitely trying to teach me lessons in this area. After a summer with almost no formal income or employment, He has provided two part-time jobs for me… teaching one course at Prairie Bible Institute (two days a week all semester long) and working mornings for a local real estate agent as administrative assistant. I am enjoying teaching at the college level still, though Written Composition would certainly not be my “preferred” course. I have no idea where or if the administrative assistant’s job is going anywhere, but the Lord is using it to provide for our family, help me assist a good Christian businessman, and apply my administrative and computer skills in a different context. I have agreed to another semester-long course for January-April 2014 at Prairie.

As has already been hinted at, I am a person who has goals and likes to know where something is leading, when the timeline is for the “next step” and even what the purpose of a “temporary” sidestep may be. I know none of this, and yet by God’s grace I am slowly, very slowly, learning to be okay with this and to live one day at a time. He knows the future and all the details. I don’t and I don’t need to know. I just need to find contentment with uncertainty and keep trusting Him.

From → General

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

