Skip to content

Spoiled Western Parents

October 12, 2016

I am a spoiled western parent. This post is not about those other people. Its about me.

When my son had a headache last night, I reached into the cupboard and pulled out some medication for him easily. He popped the (chewable) pill into his mouth, and an hour later (or less), the pain or fever was gone and he felt healthy again. I didn’t have to listen to him scream in pain, groan woefully, or watch him writhe in agony. Add some good food and a good night’s rest to the medication and he was ready to go full speed ahead this morning to school and play with his friends… as if nothing ever happened.

Likewise, if one of our children develops a more significant sickness or breaks a bone, we can simply take them to the outpatient unit at our hospital or make an appointment with one of four local doctors, and… voila: medical attention and a process for healing/repairing the injury or illness. It is shocking, even complaint-worthy (so we think), if we have to wait more than one day for such medical care.

Yes, I am a spoiled Western parent.

cambodia kids.pngOne of the reasons I joyfully serve on the board of ACTION Canada is because we help poor children around the world – in countries like India, Cambodia, the Philippines, Malawi, Zambia, Columbia and others – to have access to the necessities of life. Even more importantly, we help parents gain skills and employment so they can continue to provide these necessities for their family. My friends who serve daily in these ministries provide food, water, housing, as well as medication, education, and other services that we as parents in the Western world take for granted.

I am also proud that our children can give a little bit of their money to support ministries like FirstSteps that provide North Korean children with nutrition they would otherwise never have access to. And when a natural disaster like a hurricane hits a country like Haiti, I am glad an organization like Compassion brings physical care, medical supplies and food to those parents and children in desperate need.

So if like me, you are a spoiled parent, be thankful.
Help your children be thankful.
And together, do something to help those parents and children who are not so fortunate.

For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me… The King will reply, I tell you the truth, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers of mine, you did for me. (Matthew 25:35-36 & 40)

From → General

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

